The Kathryn Purnell Poetry Prize

The Kathryn Purnell Poetry Prize for 2021 closes Friday, 04 June. Click HERE for entry form and information.

Awarded for a poem of no more than 50 lines, this biennial award is named in honour of a much-loved member of the Society. Kathryn conducted poetry workshops in her home for members, who greatly benefited from her expertise and mentoring.

Kathryn Purnell was born in Canada and lived in France, England, Scotland, Egypt, Indonesia and Africa. When she married an Australian she moved permanently to Melbourne. Kathryn continued her education at the University of Melbourne and became a creative writing tutor. Her poetry and prose was published in many magazines and broadcast on ABC radio. She was an editor in the Luna collective and won many awards for her work.

After her death, the Society set up the Kathryn Purnell Poetry Prize in her honour. It is open to SWW members in all branches.

The 2015 Kathryn Purnell Poetry Prize was won by Judith Green.

The 2017 winners are listed here.

The 2019 winners are:

First Prize: ‘Listen’ by Janice Williams
Second Prize: ‘Ruins of Gowan School’ by Judith A Green
Third Prize: ‘Alone Time’ by Vanessa Potts
Highly Commended: ‘The House is Gone’ by Judith A Green

Further details of the presentation of prizes at the July Poetry seminar are available in the August 2019 newsletter Write-Away August 2019

Share and Enjoy !

0 0