Only 3 weeks to go! Winter Words Writers' FestivalMORE
Only 3 weeks to go! Winter Words Writers' FestivalMORE
Only 3 weeks to go! Winter Words Writers' FestivalMORE
Only 3 weeks to go! Winter Words Writers' FestivalMORE

The Margaret Hazzard Short Story Award

The Margaret Hazzard prize will award the winners as follows: First place will receive (AUD)$300, second place will receive $150 and third place will receive $75.

In 1970, Margaret Hazzard gathered together fourteen women – journalists, authors, playwrights, illustrators, contributors of articles paid for by newspapers or magazines, and TV and radio writers – to form a Victorian branch of the Society of Women Writers.

In recognition of Margaret’s commitment to women writers and support of SWWV, the Margaret Hazzard Short Story Award was established.

The competition runs biennially and women writers residing in Australia and New Zealand (or members residing overseas) are invited to submit short stories of up to 2,000 words on any theme. Closing date was 20th May 2022.

This year's judge will be Keshe Chow who writes short stories, flash fiction and poetry. Her work is featured in Maudlin House, Rust+Moth, Okay Donkey Magazine, Hobart, and others. She won the Perito Prize for short fiction in 2020, the Yarra Literary Prize in 2021, the Rachel Funari Prize for Fiction in 2021, and the Victorian Premier's Literary Awards Prize for an Unpublished Manuscript in 2022.

Previous Winners

In 2020, the competition was judged by the award winning writer Josephine Rowe. You can read Josephine’s report here and find out why she chose the following entries as winners:

1st Place               ‘Three Red Rosettes’ by Beverley Lello

2nd Place              ‘Washing Shirts in Morocco’ by Kerrin O’Sullivan

3rd Place              ‘Down the Rabbit Hole’ by Julie Bateman


2020 Beverley Lello                        2018 Mandy Nicol                 2016 Megan Wallens       

2014  Judith A Green                      2012 Janice Williams            2010 Lindy Holmes

2006 Paula Wilson                          2004 Laura Deria                  2002 Lorraine McGuigan

2000 Lorraine McGuigan               1999 Yvonne Walus              1997 Yvonne Walus

1995 Janis Tait                                 1993 Ivy Johnston                 1991 Melissa Fothergill

1989 Melissa Fothergill                  1987 Nanice Leggas              1985 Meg Macalister, Sandra Moore

1983 Margery Mary Hurst             1981 Hilda K Wilson             1979 Robin Klein

1977 Wynne Brown                         1976 Barbara Ball

How to Enter

Entries opened 23 March 2022 and closed 20 May 2022.

Judging occurs end of May through to mid July 2022.

Winners announced end of July.

Winning entries and judge's report included in Sparx 2022 edition.



Key Dates

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram Skip to content