The Alice Award

The Alice Literary Award is presented to an Australian woman who has made a distinguished, long-term contribution to Australian Literature. The award is in the form of a trophy and it is presented biennially. The winner is chosen after consultation with the state branches of the Society and each branch takes a turn at hosting the Alice Literary Award.

The Alice Award will next be presented in 2022 by the Society of Women Writers NSW.

Previous Winners

1978 Eleanor Dark
1980 Dame Judith Wright
1982 Dame Mary Durack
1984 Kylie Tennant
1986 Ruth Park
1988 Nancy Cato
1990 Nance Donkin
1992 Elizabeth Jolley
1994 Mem Fox
1996 Patsy Adam Smith
1998 Kathryn Purnell
2000 Jill Shearer
2002 Kate Grenville
2004 Dr Margaret Scott
2006 Rosemary Dobson
2008 Brenda Niall
2010 Christobel Mattingley
2012 Susanna de Vries OAM
2014 Libby Hathorn
2016 Dr Clare Wright
2018 Sally Odgers

2020 Not presented

2022 To Be Announced

Key Dates

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram Skip to content