The Alice Literary Award

Society of Women Writers of Australia

The Alice Literary Award is presented to an Australian woman who has made a distinguished, long-term contribution to Australian Literature. The award is in the form of a trophy and it is presented biennially. The winner is chosen after consultation with all state branches of the Society.

The Society of Women Writers Victoria hosted the 2018 Alice Literary Award. A full write up and photos of the event can be found by clicking HERE to be taken to the August 2018 newsletter.

SWWVic Patron Hazel Edwards OAM presenting the award to Sally Odgers (2018 recipient). With Hazel and Sally is Dr Clare Wright (2016 recipient) to hand over the ‘baton’.

Previous winners
1978 Eleanor Dark
1980 Dame Judith Wright
1982 Dame Mary Durack
1984 Kylie Tennant
1986 Ruth Park
1988 Nancy Cato
1990 Nance Donkin
1992 Elizabeth Jolley
1994 Mem Fox
1996 Patsy Adam Smith
1998 Kathryn Purnell
2000 Jill Shearer
2002 Kate Grenville
2004 Dr Margaret Scott
2006 Rosemary Dobson
2008 Brenda Niall
2010 Christobel Mattingley
2012 Susanna de Vries OAM
2014 Libby Hathorn
2016 Dr Clare Wright
2018 Sally Odgers

The 2020 Award has been postponed

Share and Enjoy !

0 0