In 2020 meetings will be from 11am to 2pm and will alternate between Hayden Raysmith Room, 4th Floor, Ross House, 247 Flinders Lane, Melbourne and the Community Hub at the Dock, Docklands Library, 107 Victoria Harbour Promenade, Docklands 3008. Phone 03 9658 9161 or 03 9658 9998.  The Committee will meet from 2pm to 3pm.  See Meetings & Events page for details.  PLEASE NOTE:  Until further notice meetings for 2020 to be conducted online using Zoom.

A Brief History of the Society of Women Writers Victoria (SWWV)

The Society of Women Writers was founded in Sydney as a State body in 1925 to welcome women delegates and wives of delegates to the Imperial Press Conference held in Sydney that year. The organisers included the writer, Mary Gilmore, and the journalist, Constance Robertson. In 1970 Margaret Hazzard and a group of women writers in Melbourne formed the Victorian Branch of the Society of Women Writers, which became an incorporated not-for-profit society in 2000. The SWWV Biennial Literary Award was inaugurated in 2001 to celebrate this event. We have sister societies of Women Writers in New South Wales, Queensland, Tasmania and Western Australia.


Literary Patron: Hazel Edwards (above)

Life Members: Dorothy Richards,Barbara Warren, Errol Broome, Judy Bartosy, Dorothea Lavery


Back L to R:  Patricia Arts, Mary Jones, Blaise van Hecke, Hazel Edwards (SWWVic patron)

    Front L to R:   Razmi Wahab, Paula Wilson, Del Nightingale, Jenny Hearn

Photo: Meryl Brown Tobin
The Society of Women Writers VIC
Committee 2019–2020:

President: Paula Wilson
Vice-president: TBA
Treasurer: Blaise van Hecke
Assistant Treasurer: TBA
Membership Secretary: Del Nightingale
Newsletter editor: Blaise van Hecke
Website coordinator: Mary Jones
Minutes Secretary: Patricia Arts
Writing Groups coordinator: Patricia Arts
Photography & PR: Razmi Wahab
Outreach coordinator: Jenny Hearn

Writing Groups Editors: Spring: Patricia Arts, Perennial Poets: Nenia Tavrou

Journal sub-committee: Paula Wilson, Errol Broome, Blaise van Hecke & Mary Jones

Archivist:                   Nina McPherson                                       Web Advisor:             TBA